Welcome Plateau of Asiago 7 Comuni

7 towns to discover

Asiago Enego Foza Gallio
Lusiana Conco Roana Rotzo

If you like the Asiago Plateau click

l'Altopiano di Asiago 7 Comuni


Find events by category, by month or by day

Literary prize Mario Rigoni Stern, Saturday 20 June 2015 Asiago

Saturday 20/6/2015 at 17:00
Mario rigoni stern premio per la letteratura multilingue delle alpi locandina

Literary prize Mario Rigoni Stern, Saturday 20 June 2015 Asiago

Saturday 20 June 2015 at the Palazzo del Turismo Millepini in Asiago, you will assign the Prize Mario Rigoni Stern; now in its fourth edition.

The program, starting at 17.00hours, includes:

  • authorities greetings
  • Lectio Magistralis by Luca Mercalli, President of the Italian Meteorological Society
  • Report of the jury and Awards winner
  • Dialogue with the winner

During the ceremony, Ottavia Piccolo will read excerpts of works by Mario Rigoni Stern. The awards will be presented by Sergio Fernandez, editor-in-Chief of "Il Gazzettino".


The "Premio Mario Rigoni Stern for Multilingual literature of the Alps" was founded in 2010, two years after the disappearance of the writer asiaghese, to honor the memory and testimony in defense of the natural and cultural heritage of the mountain on the initiative of the Veneto region, the Municipality of Asiago, province of Trento.

The award was created to encourage the development of the cultural context that polyglot refers to the Alps, promoting a contest on works of fiction and non-fiction devoted to the Alps, to their landscape and their people. Established with the intent to honor the memory of Mario Rigoni Stern and his work, the prize aims to perpetuate the values of brotherhood among peoples, respect for the environment, of the Alpine World.

The award is dedicated to fiction and non-fiction by mountains in all Alpine languages (Italian, German, French, Slovene, Romansch, Ladin francoprovenzale) annually and is divided into two sections: fiction and non-fiction, each biennial. The competition for non-fiction is based in Asiago (VI) with award ceremony in odd-numbered years, while that for fiction is based in Riva del Garda (TN) with prize-giving in even-numbered years.

This event is linked also to the historical literary genre of the great war which Mario Rigoni Stern wrote.

La costruzione delle alpi de rossiLITERARY AWARD WINNER MARIO RIGONI STERN

The Premio Mario Rigoni Stern goes to Antonio De Rossi (David)

The author won the award with the construction of the Alps. Images and picturesque alpine scenery (1773-1914)

The Jury, formed by Paola Maria Filippi, Mario David, Daniel Jalla, Paolo Rumiz, Ilvo Diamanti, coordinated by Margaret Detomas, at its meeting of June 17, 2015 at the seat of the MUSES ( Science Museum) of Trento decided to award the prize "Mario Rigoni Stern for Multilingual literature of France" to Antonio De Rossi to his Construction of the Alps. Images and picturesque alpine scenery (1773-1914), (p. 420, Publisher David) for the following reasons:

"The construction of the Alps is a dense, fascinating and extremely well documented that thanks to a rich iconographic apparatus shows as the Alps are not only a geographical reality, but also a mental universe".

Antonio De Rossi, architect, is Professor of architectural and Urban Design, and Director of the Research Center «Institute of Montana Architecture», at the Politecnico di Torino.

Among the 63 works, in Italian, French, Slovenian, German, Ladin and both fiction and nonfiction, the jury unanimously reported the following authors, alphabetically: Henry Camanni, Davide Longo and Help Priuli.

  • Henry Camanni with fire and frost (Laterza) covers and rewrites with clarity and great affabulato ria capabilities crucial years of the great war.
  • Davide Longo with the case Bramard (Publisher Feltrinelli) does not write a traditional book, but a yellow where the mountain has a centrality ideal for the protagonist.
  • Help Priuli with signs like Words (Priuli and Verlucca Publisher) provides a valuable contribution to research and rediscovery of certain aspects of human languages, before the invention of writing.

The winner will receive the prize from Chairman of the Committee Alberich Rigoni Stern, Mario Rigoni Stern's son.

This year the Prize Mario Rigoni Stern returns with a new feature: in each edition will compete both works of fiction and non-fiction, so no more will alternate as in past editions.

The award is sponsored by the family of Rigoni Stern, by the Association Ars Venandi, Veneto region, autonomous province of Trento, the municipality of Asiago, Comune di Riva del Garda, Cassa di Risparmio del Veneto, Banca di Trento e Bolzano, Italian Federation of hunting, by Riva del Garda Fierecongressi, Museum of the uses and customs of San Michele All'Adige.

In 2014 won the prize the well-known writer Mauro Corona (narrative section). In 2013 the prize went to scholar Dionysius Albera (nonfiction), in 2012 at the Slovene writer Alojz Rebula (narrative section) and in 2011 the author Alexis BétempsAosta Valley.

The amount of the prize is € 10,000.

All rights reserved.

Are you interested in this event?

Find out where to sleep and where to eat on the Seven Mountains Asiago Seven